ISE (paper edition)

Two exam modules offer flexibility

There are two ISE (paper edition) exam modules — Reading & Writing and Speaking & Listening. These can be taken together or separately, depending on whether you are taking the exam in a Trinity Registered Exam Centre, or in a UK Trinity SELT Centre.

  • The Reading & Writing module is taken as a written exam in registered centres.
  • One-to-one, face-to-face Speaking & Listening assessments can be taken in person or via live video conference in exam centres.

More about live video conference

Six levels mapped to the Common European Framework of Reference for languages


ISE (paper edition) is quality audited by the Association of Language Testers in Europe and is available at six levels, mapped to the Common European Framework of Reference for languages (CEFR):

ISE A1 (A1), ISE Foundation (A2), ISE I (B1), ISE II (B2), ISE III (C1), ISE IV (C2).

ISE (paper edition) exam information booklets

ISE Digital for students

Speaking & Listening


ISE Digital for students

Reading & Writing



Discover Trinity's ISE

Download the factsheet

Book ISE (paper edition) exams

ISE (paper edition) guides, resources and teaching materials

ISE is designed to support classroom teaching and maps easily to general English language curricula and coursework and Trinity provides a wide range of guidance and resources (including coursework Schemes of Work) for each level.


Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.

Back to top