The Trinity Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (CertTESOL) is a TESOL or TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) certificate designed for people with little or no experience of teaching English, and for those with experience who require an internationally recognised initial teacher education qualification.

Preparing for the Trinity CertTESOL English language teaching certificate equips trainees with the basic skills and knowledge needed to take up their first post as an ESOL teacher. It gives an introduction to the theory and practice of English teaching and an insight into the challenges facing the learner and the role of the teacher.

The CertTESOL is rated at Level 5 on Ofqual’s Regulated Qualifications Framework, a comparable level to the second year of an undergraduate degree, and comprises a minimum of 130 hours, with an expected minimum of 70 hours further study required (Total Qualification Time: 200 hours).

Assessment units

  • Unit 1: Teaching skills
  • Unit 2: Language awareness and skills
  • Unit 3: The learner profile
  • Unit 4: The materials assignment
  • Unit 5: The unknown language

Trainees complete a course of study with a Trinity validated course provider. They also undertake at least six hours of observed teaching practice with real learners and produce reflective written assignments for assessment.

Find a full time part-time, face-to-face, online, or blended course through a validated course provider near you. Find a course...

Course content

Read about the five units the course is delivered and assessed through.

Entry requirements

Check you can meet the entry requirements for this course.

Career prospects

Find out about the opportunities doing this course could open up to you.


Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.

Back to top