Qualifications in the UK and Ireland

The following English language qualifications and assessments are availble in the UK and Ireland (unless otherwise stated). Use the buttons below to find further information about each assessment.

Exam suites

Trinity Stars

Awards for children aged 3-12. Trinity Stars promotes English language learning through drama, music and performance.

GESE: Graded Examinations in Spoken English

Tests English speaking and listening skills.
12 grades (pre-A1 to C2) available for learners of all ages from beginners to advanced.

ISE: Integrated Skills in English

Tests speaking, listening, reading, writing.
5 levels (A2 to C2) available for people who need English skills for study and work.

ESOL Skills for Life (UK)

Tests speaking, listening, reading and writing.
Entry Levels 1, 2, 3 and Levels 1 and 2 qualifications for adults learners in the UK.

ESOL Step 1 and Step 2 (UK)

Tests speaking and listening skills of adults in the UK aged 16+ who are not yet ready to take an Entry level ESOL Skills for Life qualification.

Secure English Language Tests (UK)

Home Office UKVI-approved GESE A1, A2, B1 and ISE B1, B2, C1 SELTs for visa, citizenship, settlement and other SELT purposes.

Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.

Back to top