ESOL Skills for Life: Entry Level 2

Units available

ESOL Skills for Life qualifications are made up of 3 units that carry credits and lead to standalone award-level qualifications as illustrated below. When a learner attains all three units at one level, they gain an 'all modes' ESOL Skills for Life qualification at certificate level.


Speaking, Listening



Exam format and timings

  • Speaking and listening
    Conversation with an examiner – 3 tasks – 8 minutes
    Group discussion with an examiner – 1 task – up to 5 minutes
  • Writing
    Controlled exam – 3 tasks – 50 minutes
  • Reading
    Controlled exam – 24 questions within 3 tasks – 60 minutes

Exam delivery

Speaking and listening
Speaking and listening exams are delivered face-to-face, in-person at Registered Exam Centres.

Trinity has developed a digital alternative method of offering our ESOL Skills for Life speaking and listening exams. Candidates can now also take their one-to-one assessments online with an experienced Trinity examiner via video conference in registered exam centres.

A paper-based exam paper undertaken at Registered Exam Centres.

A paper-based exam paper undertaken at Registered Exam Centres.

Exam administration

See our exam administration page to find out more about booking, fees, running exams and results.

View exam administration


Download Specifications

The Specifications contain objectives, candidate profile, exam format and procedure, assessment criteria, generic performance descriptors - plus general guidelines and policy information.

Register to provide Trinity exams

Learn more about becoming a Registered Exam Centre in the UK

Learn more

Choose a unit below to see all related resources

Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.

Back to top