Achievement levels

Achievement levels - Trinity qualifications

Details of the knowledge and skills required to achieve qualifications at each level are provided in Trinity’s exam specifications and syllabuses which are available on this website.

Achievement levels - Descriptors

Qualification frameworks define generic achievement levels and aid international comparison of difficulty levels between any qualification.

Trinity’s regulated qualifications are listed on the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual) Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) register for England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

For detailed level descriptors click on the links below:

  • RQF level descriptors – All Trinity’s regulated qualifications align with RQF achievement levels.
  • EQF level descriptors – The European Qualifications Framework (EQF) exists to help different countries compare levels. Compare RQF EQF levels in the Trinity achivement level table above.
  • CEFR level descriptors – Trinity’s GESE and ISE qualifications align to the Common European Framework of Reference for languages (CEFR). The CEFR aids comparison between different English language qualifications. Read more...


Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.

Back to top