Recognising Trinity English language qualifications

Recognised around the world

Trinity's Integrated Skills in English (ISE) qualifications and Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE) are recognised around the world as evidence of English language proficiency.

ISE and GESE exams are taken by hundreds of thousands of candidates worldwide each year and numbers are growing in China, Hong Kong SAR, India, UAE, Italy, Spain, Turkey, Mexico, and South America.

Visit ISE and GESE sections for further information about the exams.

ISE: Evidence of English language skills for study

Trinity's ISE is a contemporary multi-skills qualification that evidences English language communication skills (reading, writing, speaking and listening) required by universities and promotes the development of other transferable skills for study.

Download the ISE Guide for Higher Education and Universities.

Why transferable skills are important

Listen to why Trinity's ISE is selected as a preferred option when it comes to authentic and transferable skills for real life.

Higher education institutions that accept ISE

ISE is widely accepted by high ranking institutions, including UCL, LSE and Kings College in London, Edinburgh University and elsewhere in Europe. As well as being accepted in the UK and Ireland, it is also recognised by a growing number of universities and colleges across North America and elsewhere.

ISE recognition enquiry

If you are unable to find the university or college where you wish to study listed on our web pages, please send us your details using this form, and we will enquire further on your behalf.

Join the list of institutions that recognise ISE

Increase your institution's profile among prospective students by joining the list of institutions that accept ISE certificates

Join the list to add or update your institution's listing.


Guidance from the UK's University and Colleges Admissions Services (UCAS) advises international student applicants to check the language level requirements of individual universities before making applications.

UCAS does not specify acceptable levels of English language proficiency. However, typical requirements for university degree programmes in the UK are:

  • ISE II (CEFR B2) - RQF Level 1/ EQF Level 2
  • ISE III (CEFR C1) - RQF Level 2/ EQF Level 3
  • ISE IV (CEFR C2) - RQF Level 3/ EQF Level 4

Government and regulatory

UK Government Home Office - UKVI

Both ISE and GESE tests taken in Secure English Language Test (SELT) Centres in the UK are approved and accepted by the UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) for settlement and multiple visa application purposes.

Find out more about SELT tests.

Go to SELT test for UKVI


Ofqual (Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation)

Trinity College London is recognised by Ofqual and its regulated qualifications are regulated by Ofqual and its respective partners in Wales and Northern Ireland.

International framework alignment

Qualifications formally calibrated to the CEFR

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) is an international standard for describing language ability. It is used around the world to describe learners' language skills. Trinity's ISE and GESE qualifications have been formally calibrated to the CEFR.

Read the report about our Calibration to the CEFR and find learner profiles describing the language skills candidates must demonstrate at each level to pass ISE at CEFR levels B2, C1 and C2.

RQF and EQF frameworks

All of Trinity's regulated qualifications meet the requirements of the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF).

The European Qualifications Framework for Lifelong Learning (EQF) framework makes comparisons between qualifications in different EU countries easier to understand.

Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.

Back to top