Music qualifications recognition

UCAS points

Trinity College London's Level 3 qualifications (Grades 6-8) in music performance and theory are included in the UK Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS) tariff, and attract UCAS points for university and higher education entry.

UCAS has introduced a revised points tariff for courses starting from September 2017 onwards.

For students applying for courses starting in the 2017/18 academic year or later, the following points apply:

Practical (Classical and Jazz, Rock & Pop)

The following applies both to face-to-face and digital grades.

Grade 6

Grade 7

Grade 8

  • Pass: 8
  • Merit: 10
  • Distinction: 12
  • Pass: 12
  • Merit: 14
  • Distinction: 16
  • Pass: 18
  • Merit: 24
  • Distinction: 30


Grade 6

Grade 7

Grade 8

  • Pass: 4
  • Merit: 5
  • Distinction: 6
  • Pass: 6
  • Merit: 7
  • Distinction: 8
  • Pass: 8
  • Merit: 9
  • Distinction: 10

The points listed above relate to the new UCAS tariff points system, which will apply to university and college courses starting from September 2017 onwards.

Please note that the number of UCAS points awarded to all qualifications has changed, including A levels, AS levels and Trinity qualifications. For example, an A* at A level was worth 140 points under the old UCAS tariff, but will be worth 56 points under the new system.

Further information is available at


Progress 8

Performance tables are a key accountability measure for state-funded schools in England. Trinity’s music graded exams at grades 6-8 carry Progress 8 points which contribute towards these accountability measures.

Schools wishing to collect the Progress 8 points from any of their pupils taking a music grade 6, 7 or 8 exam should ensure that they take the following steps:

  1. If you are a Trinity Registered Exam Centre, make sure that your National Centre Number (NCN) is registered against your centre. Please provide your NCN to your usual Trinity contact who will be happy to update our records.

  2. When you (or the candidate’s teacher, parent, etc) submit candidate details you must include one or both of the following:

Progress 8 points are matched using the ‘best institution’ principle.  Accordingly, schools will still be credited for points related to candidates sitting exams at Trinity public centres, providing that their dates of birth and/or ULNs have been registered with Trinity.

Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.