TESOL recognition

CertTESOL is recognised as a qualification for English language teaching in the UK and internationally. The CertTESOL is accepted by the British Council as an initial TESOL or TEFL qualification for teachers in its accredited teaching organisations in the UK and in its own teaching operations overseas. Many other state and independent sector teaching organisations also accept the qualification.

Credits are also awarded towards degree programmes offered by universities in the UK. There are many jobs available for those who hold a reputable certificate in TESOL or TEFL in the UK and worldwide.

Trinity’s TESOL qualifications are accredited on the qualifications framework as follows:

  • CertTESOL: Level 5
  • Diploma TESOL: Level 7

Teachers hoping to teach in mainstream education (primary, secondary, tertiary) should always check the requirements of that particular sector, per country, before embarking on a training course.

Trinity's TESOL qualifications are accepted by most employers worldwide. They are welcomed by the British Council for new and experienced teachers in their accredited teaching organisations in the UK, and in their own teaching centres worldwide.

Trinity is a member of professional language organisations worldwide, including:

  • European Association for Quality Language Services (EAQUALS)
  • European Associating for Language Testing And Assessment (EALTA)
  • International Association of Teachers of English as a Foreign Language (IATEFL)
  • Quality in TESOL Education (Quite)
  • The Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE)


Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.