Trinity launches updated four skills ISE exam

2 Feb 2015

Trinity College London's four skills exam, Integrated Skills in English (ISE), has been updated and will be available to take from September. New guidance about ISE for English Language teachers, based on the revised exam specifications, is now available.

Modernised to reflect the needs of today’s users, revised ISE is available at four levels from ISE Foundation (A2) to ISE III (C1) and consists of two exam modules: Reading & Writing and Speaking & Listening. ISE IV (C2) continues to be available in its original format.

Candidates must pass both exam modules at the same ISE level to achieve an ISE qualification. The modules can be taken together, or at different times, when the students are ready. Separate results are reported for each skill – reading, writing, speaking and listening and appear on certificates (Pass, Merit, Distinction).

One of the new features of the revised exam is a diagnostic report for each skill showing candidate strengths and areas for improvement. 

The ISE exam review and revision process involved extensive research and consultation, including test trials in key markets. Trinity worked in partnership with Bedfordshire University’s award-winning Centre for Research in English Language Learning and Assessment (CRELLA) to develop and quality assure the process.

Trinity’s Senior Test Development Manager, Avril Ikeda Wood said ‘With a strong focus on language performance and promotion of the development of transferable skills for academic study and employability, ISE assesses the communicative skills people need for success in the modern world’.
Available internationally and increasingly popular due to its compatibility for use within Content and Language Integrated Learning (CLIL) teaching practices, ISE is taken extensively across secondary schools in Spain and Italy in particular.

Details of availability, together with guidance and resources for teachers and exam specifications are available now at


Notes to editors:

Trinity College London

Established in 1877, Trinity is an international exam board with a positive, supportive approach to assessment and development.

Trinity awards qualifications in a range of communications-based subjects, including the English language, communication skills, drama and music.

Trinity conducts over 700,000 assessments a year worldwide.

Trinity College London has been assessing English language proficiency since 1938 and its tests are recognised by universities, employers and the UK government robust evidence of English language proficiency.

Trinity’s TESOL qualifications are accepted for English language teaching posts by the British Council.

Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.

Back to top