Jump to content

Diploma examinations

Trinity’s range of Diplomas is being updated and some of our higher level qualifications are due to be withdrawn. For more details on which ones, and the timeline for withdrawal please read our news release.

The Trinity Drama and Speech Diplomas Syllabus offers a wide range of diplomas in Performance, Teaching, and Applied Drama for advanced candidates. The following subject options are available:

  • Speech and Drama
  • Musical Theatre
  • Theatre Arts
  • Communication Skills
  • Applied Drama

Candidates are offered a wide range of choice within these syllabuses and performance selections may be drawn from an international range of literature. In researched written units of diplomas as well as in written examination papers candidates are encouraged to explore material relevant to their own country and professional situation.

There are two levels of Diploma:

  • Associate (ATCL)
  • Licentiate (LTCL)

All ATCL and LTCL Diplomas may be awarded either as Pass or Distinction. 

Associate Performance Diplomas are a one-unit qualification assessed by performance only. Associate Teaching Diplomas require three units.

At Licentiate level, both Teaching and Performing options at Licentiate level require three units.

LTCL Teaching diplomas in Speech and Drama, Musical Theatre, and Communication Skills are recognised by Ofqual/CEA/ACCAC in Great Britain as teaching qualifications.

Follow this link to our page of Diploma Sample Written Papers

If you wish to use an ATCL to support your application for Higher or Further Education the following document may be useful: ATCL Guidance for HE and FE Application.


Back to top