Assessment and Recognition

How our exams are marked

Our examiners assess the whole performance when awarding marks and giving feedback. For pieces, this not only includes fluency and accuracy, and technical facility, but also communication and interpretation.

Further information on the breakdown of marks for each section of our exams is given in the syllabus. View our full Assessment Criteria


Trinity College London is an awarding body recognised by the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual) in England and Northern Ireland, and by Qualifications Wales. Trinity’s qualifications are regulated by these authorities within the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF). Various arrangements are in place with government educational authorities worldwide. Trinity exams are aligned to the European Qualifications Framework (EQF). Find out more about UCAS points for music performance and theory.

UCAS Points

Grades 6–8 are eligible for UCAS (Universities and Colleges Admissions Service) points for those applying to UK colleges and universities.

Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.

Back to top