Music Certificates Syllabus (from 2018)

Our Certificate exams consist of a mini-recital of pieces, including the option to present own choice repertoire. The technical work and supporting tests included in our graded exams are not included in our Certificate exams, which means candidates can focus solely on their performance and presentation of their chosen pieces.

Certificate exams are available for many instruments (including singing), and for ensembles of any combination of instruments and/or voices, at three levels:

  • Foundation (equivalent to Grade 3)
  • Intermediate (equivalent to Grade 5)
  • Advanced (equivalent to Grade 8)

Certificate exams require candidates to perform a programme with a set time duration, rather than a specific number of pieces. This gives the candidate a large degree of flexibility. Repertoire may be selected from our specific Certificate repertoire lists as well as our graded repertoire lists (where available). Own-choice pieces may also make up one-third of the performance duration, as long as they contain a similar level of technical and musical demand to those on our published repertoire lists.

To see which instruments have specific Certificate repertoire lists visit

Candidates are also marked on their presentation of their chosen pieces – the examiner will look at three areas: programme planning, programme notes and stagecraft.

Download our Music Certificates Syllabus (from 2018) for full information about how Certificate exams work and to see which instruments our Certificate exams are available for.

Download our Music Certificates Syllabus (from 2018)

Keep in touch

Make sure you don’t miss the latest news from Trinity College London. Sign up for email updates about your subject area.

Back to top