Jump to content

Find out what people are saying about Trinity English language exams.

ESOL English language qualifications
(English for speakers of other languages)

Trinity ESOL qualifications are recognised internationally as reliable evidence of proficiency in English. Our exams assess and promote the skills needed for effective communication in real life. They're available to individuals, schools and colleges in more than 60 countries.

Who are Trinity exams for?

Trinity ESOL exams - GESE, ISE, SEW and Skills for Life - are intended for candidates who have learnt English as a foreign, second or additional language.

Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE)

Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE)

GESE tests speaking and listening.

For learners of all ages - 12 grades available from beginners to advanced (pre-A1 to C2).

Integrated Skills in English (ISE)

Integrated Skills in English (ISE)

ISE tests speaking, listening, reading and writing.

For students preparing for study and work - 5 levels available from elementary to advanced (A2 to C2).

Tests for UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI)

Tests for UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI)

Trinity's Secure English Language tests, approved by UKVI, offered at centres across the UK.

Available at levels: A1, B1, B2 and C1.

Spoken English for Work

Spoken English for Work (SEW)

SEW tests speaking and listening in a work context.

For people about to start work or who have just started 4 levels available, from intermediate to advanced (B1 to C1).

ESOL Skills for Life

ESOL Skills for Life (QCF)

Tests speaking, listening, reading and writing.

Award and Certificate qualifications for adults learning English in the UK 5 levels available from beginner to advanced (Entry 1 to Level 2).

Trinity Stars

Trinity Stars

Promotes language learning through drama, music and performance.

For children starting to learn English, aged 3-12 a group award.

Test trialling - get involved and help develop Trinity exams

One of the ways Trinity ensures the quality of its exams is to test trial them before their general release. Benefits for participating schools, teachers and students include practice tests, an examiner report and feedback sessions. Find out more and apply

Assessing English language since 1938.

Back to top