Jump to content


Recognised around the world
Trinity College London's Integrated Skills in English (ISE) examinations and Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE) are recognised by higher education institutions around the world as evidence of English language proficiency for student admission.

Join the recognition list
Increase your profile by adding your institution to our list of recognising instititions: Join the list

UK Higher Education institutions which recognise ISE
UK institutions

ISE and GESE exams are taken by hundreds of thousands of candidates worldwide each year and the number is growing in China, Hong Kong, India, UAE, Italy, Italy, Spain, Turkey and South America.

Find an ISE or GESE centre near you:
In the UK

Exam Information Booklets
Full academic information is available in the ISE Exam Information booklet and the GESE Exam Information booklet.

Trinity College London is a Full Member of the Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE). GESE and ISE have been awarded ALTE Quality mark - evidence of meeting all 17 of ALTE’s stringent quality standards. 

Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR)
View the CEFR chart to see how Trinity's English qualifications are aligned to the CEFR.

The CEFR Calibration Report details how GESE and ISE examinations are related to the Common Europeans Framework of Reference (CEFR). The CEFR Project Summary is a shorter version of this report.

Evidencing English language proficiency for Higher Education

ISE is designed to equip candidates with the English language and communication skills they need to undertake academic study up to postgraduate level. Find out more by viewing the Evidencing English language proficiency brochure.

UK Visas and Immigration
ISE and GESE are accepted by UK Visas and Immigration for the Spouse/Partner visa and for Tier 1, 2, and 4 immigration.

Click the visa below to find out more.
Spouses and Partners visa
Tier 4 visa

Tier 2 visa
Tier 1 visa


In the UK, ISE and GESE are accredited by the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual), and its respective partners in Wales and Northern Ireland.

EQF (European Qualifications Framework for Life Long Learning)

A European Qualifications Framework for Life Long Learning (EQF) is in the process of being introduced. The EQF relates different countries' national qualifications systems and frameworks together around a common European reference.

The UK's University and Colleges Admissions Services (UCAS) does not specify acceptable levels of English language proficiency. Their guidance advises international applicants to check the language level requirements of individual universities before making an application. You can also check our list of ISE-recoginising institutions. 

ISE language levels:
ISE II (B2 / Level 1)
ISE III (C1 / Level 2)
ISE IV (C2 / Level 3)

Typical requirements for UK university degree programmes in the UK are ISE level II or above:

ISE II (B2 / Level 1)
ISE III (C1 / Level 2)
ISE IV (C2 / Level 3)


Back to top