Jump to content

Recognition of Trinity's English language qualifications

Recognised around the world

Trinity's Integrated Skills in English (ISE) qualifications and Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE) are recognised around the world as evidence of English language proficiency.

ISE and GESE exams are taken by hundreds of thousands of candidates worldwide each year and numbers are growing in China, Hong Kong, India, UAE, Italy, Spain, Turkey, Mexico and South America.

  • Visit ISE and GESE web pages for full exam information. 

ISE: Evidence of English language skills for study

Trinity's ISE is a contemporary multi-skills qualification that evidences English language communication skills required by universities and promotes the development of other transferable skills for study.


Higher education institutions that accept ISE 

ISE is widely accepted by high ranking institutions, including UCL, LSE and Kings College in London, Edinburgh university, Trinity College Dublin and elsewhere in Europe. As well as being accepted in the UK and Ireland, it is also recognised by a growing number of universities and colleges across North America and elsewhere. 


ISE recognition enquiry

If you are unable to find the university or college where you wish to study listed on our web pages, please send us your details using the form below, and we will enquire further on your behalf.



Join the list of institutions that recognise ISE

Increase your institution's profile among prospective students by joining the list of institutions that accept ISE certificates: 

International framework alignment

Qualifications formally calibrated to the CEFR

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) is an international standard for describing language ability. It is used around the world to describe learners' language skills. Trinity's ISE and GESE qualifications have been formally calibrated to the CEFR. 

RQF and EQF frameworks

All of Trinity's regulated qualifications meet the requirements of the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF).

The European Qualifications Framework for Lifelong Learning (EQF) framework makes comparisons between qualifications in different EU countries easier to understand.

Government and regulatory


Guidance from the UK's University and Colleges Admissions Services (UCAS) advises international student applicants to check the language level requirements of individual universities before making applications.

UCAS does not specify acceptable levels of English language proficiency. However, typical requirements for university degree programmes in the UK are:

  • ISE II (CEFR B2) - RQF Level 1/ EQF Level 2
  • ISE III (CEFR C1) - RQF Level 2/ EQF Level 3
  • ISE IV (CEFR C2) - RQF Level 3/ EQF Level 4



Both ISE and GESE tests taken in Secure English Language Test (SELT) Centres in the UK are approved and accepted by the UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) for settlement and multiple visa application purposes. Find out more about SELT tests in the UK... 


Trinity College London is recognised by Ofqual (the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) and its regulated qualifications are regulated by Ofqual and its respective partners in Wales and Northern Ireland.  

Professional associations


Trinity College London is a member of the Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE). In 2012 GESE and ISE were awarded the ALTE 'Q' Quality mark - evidence of meeting all 17 of ALTE’s stringent quality standards. 

Trinity is an active member of leading professional institutions, including:

Find out more about Trinity's membership of professional associations...


Trinity College London is a leading international exam board and independent education charity that has been providing assessments around the world since 1877. Find out more...



Back to top