Jump to content

South Africa Matric

Trinity music examinations may be submitted for Matric/FETC (Further Education and Training Certificate).

Trinity music examinations are registered with SAQA (South African Qualifications Authority).

The minimum requirements for Matric are:

  • Grade 6 Trinity theory 
  • Grade 7 Trinity practical  

The Trinity qualifications may only be offered as an eighth National Senior Certificate subject and need to be enrolled in the learner’s Grade 12 year.

The practical component must be played by the learner not later than June of the Grade 12 year.

The theory component must be completed by the learner not earlier than October of the Grade 11 year.

This means that music students may continue to study privately with a teacher of their choice and enter for any of the musical instruments for which Trinity offers examinations, including electronic keyboard, and drum kit.

Most of the main centres have two or three practical examination sessions a year, all of which fall within the required period.

For more information, please contact your local Trinity representative or the National Manager. 



Back to top